Hémisphères (2019)


Hémisphères (2019) focuses on a surrounding sound overwhelming the hall. Captured by a microphone, the piano travels throughout the 6-channel speaker setup placed across the hall in various principles that inform quite a simple structure of the piece. The pianist is facing away from the audience so that the keyboard is visible and parallel to the audience in order to visually connect with the hemispheres (low and high register of the piano) that are being projected to the speakers.

Live performance from the San Francisco Conservatory, 2019

Lukáš Janata, piano
Dariush Derakhshani, electronics

Available to listen at

Obtain the score